Albion 3-3 Kinsale MSL

Albion secured their best result against Kinsales first team in recent years with a 3-3 draw in Ballinadee. Though the game couldn’t have started any worse when a ball over the top saw Derek McCarthy finish fantastically with a volley into the bottom left corner. Kinsale dominated possession trying to create more chances, using Brazil & Williams on the wings to good effect. A few clean chances went by for Kinsale, mostly coming from the wings into the box with no one to meet the cross in the box. Albion took advantage of a Kinsale attack when Rob Daly latched onto a clearance and was taken down in the box. Tim stepped up to fire home to make it 1-1. 5 minutes later Albion were 2-1 up when O’Callaghan, between the sticks for Kinsale, let the ball slip under him which Tim tapped over the line. Jamie Daly had Albion 3-1 up with a lovely finish after some trickery from Rob Daly had played him through. Kinsale got 1 back within minutes when McCarthy dinked a ball over the top for Sean Lyons, who was played onside by Albions back four, Lyons then took the ball around Walsh and finished cooly. 3-2 at half time to Albion.

The second half saw a different looking Albion take shape. Straight from the off Kinsale piled the pressure on, though Albion had McCarthy marked as he was Kinsales main outlet for ball winning & distribution in centre mid. McCarthy & Searls were trying to pull the strings for the visitors but no clean chance broke until Brazil played Williams through who took a shot from the edge of the box and found the bottom left. A wave of corners came for Kinsale, though Walsh had little saves to make with nothing on target. Albion picked it up for the last 10 mins when Harrington nearly lobbed O’Callaghan.

A good run out before the start of the season this sunday! Best of luck to Kinsale in Munster Senior Div 2 this season also!

Team: Mike Walsh, Darren Daly (Ger O’Connell ’45), Jody McNamara (Dan Coleman ’45), Declan Murray (Owen Hetherington ’60), Colm O’Donovan, JP Hayes, Jamie Daly (James O’Driscoll ’45), Jason O’Riordan (Martin Ryan ’45), Ben Dillon, Tim Harrington, Rob Daly (Troy Dillon ’45).

Sub. Aaron O’Sullivan.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *