Leeside 1-1 De Courcey Albion

De Courcey Albion had a massive casualty list today with John Duggan, Declan Murray, Jason O’Riordan, Gearoid Coholan, Noel Twomey, JP Hayes, Ronan O’Driscoll & David Butler all sidelined but still came away with a point today in their last game of the ’09/’10 season. They held out in the end to take the spoils though at times looked as nervous as a long tailed dog in a room full of rocking chairs.

Leeside started the brighter of the two teams piling pressure on and forcing Michael Walsh into an abundence of top class saves. Colm O’Donovan intercepted what looked to be a certain goal after Michael Walsh had parried a shot to his left and was left stranded. Leeside went on to hit the post and throw away a few clean chances to put themselves a goal to the good. On 44 minutes (the ref told me there was a minute to go before the goal), Leeside went 1 up after a shot deflected off Conor Hurley. 1-1 Half Time.

The 2nd half looked brighter for Albion with Seamus O’Callaghan working well in midfield. Leeside were still on top but Albion had gotten back into the game and nearly levelled when Jody MacNamara chipped the keeper and put it just wide. The back 4 of Ger O’Connell, Conor Hurley, Colm O’Donovan & Colm Walsh were seeing out the 2nd half in great fashion & with the confidence growing through defence the midfield started pushing on. With 10 minutes to go Albion recieved a free on the left of the box. The inswinging cross was headed out for a corner. Martin Ryan took it and found the head of Conor Hurley who smashed the ball into the top left to make it 1-1, a top class goal and a savage delivery in all fairness. Conor probably couldn’t have asked for a better delivery. It was pin perfect if truth were to be told. Just the way it was struck and curled onto the head, you wouldn’t see it in Division 2 like. Anyway, Albion closed out the game to earn a great point and end Leesides chances of winning the league. They take their tally to 24pts for the season.

Team: Michael Walsh(GK), Ger O’Connell(RB), Conor Hurley(LB), Colm Walsh(CB), Colm O’Donovan(CB), James O’Driscoll(LW), Jody MacNamara(RW), Martin Ryan(CM), Seamus O’Callaghan(CM), Kevin O’Neill(F), Shane Moloney(F).


Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *